My thoughts as a "contact skeptic"

A place to talk about MAP/AAM-related issues in general. This includes the attraction itself, associated paraphilia/identities and AMSC/AMSR (Adult-Minor Sexual Contact and Relations).
Phossu

My thoughts as a "contact skeptic"

Post by Phossu »

Hi Mu. I'm new to the online MAP community, having only become active about a month ago. So please understand my perspective is one of a newbie - contact discourse is something that I never allowed myself to consider until recently.

I do my best to recognize the limits of my knowledge. I do my best not to speak authoritatively on subjects that I don't have a decent understanding of. I try to be skeptical of everything, questioning things that are often considered fundamental truths. Despite this, I never questioned things like "AMSC is harmful" until recently.

So as of now I consider myself skeptical. I'm currently unwilling to plant myself in a position that resembles "pro contact" because I am uncertain about the risk of harm. I am open to the idea that some forms of AMSC that are not harmful, to me this seems like an obvious concession. But the issue gets uncertain once you try to nail down the specifics. It is not clear to me what kinds of AMSC are permissible, and more importantly it's not clear to me how we can recognize permissible AMSC and distinguish it from harmful AMSC. That's before you even touch on things like age of consent or other legal reform.

Harm that comes from AMSC could be primarily sociogenic. Even if we assume this is true, what sort of society would be needed to remove this sociogenic harm? Is this something that is achievable in reality, or is this utopian thinking? Is youth liberation enough, or are there more factors at play besides the autonomy of minors?